FAQ

c/o pop xoxo

c/o pop xoxo is a special edition of the c/o pop Festival and the c/o pop Convention in October 2020. As we cannot predict what the Corona location will be like in October, we are planning primarily digital - but with the option of small analogue live events with a small local audience. We will broadcast live on an online multi-channel platform, if possible with an exclusive local audience and supplemented by activities on our social media channels. We want to create a pandemic-proof event that is safe and secure for the audience*, artists* and the team and still fun to watch. Everyone should feel comfortable and remember c/o pop xoxo as a special event.

Experience concerts live

With our partner HERBRAND's Ehrenfeld we have a location that is very spacious and divided into several rooms. So we can easily equalize the productions on site. If events with an audience at the end of October are still allowed, we will raffle tickets and invite a small number of people to see the concerts live at HERBRAND's. Since the safety of all participants is our highest priority, there will be extensive measures for hygiene and keeping distance on site. Here we are especially dependent on the help of the visitors* and artists* - because such an event can only work if everyone sticks to the rules.

Program

You can find our complete program here on the site from October 14, 2020!

The program planned for April can unfortunately not be shown 1:1 in October, especially the many points with international artists and speakers. Therefore we support once again our local scene in Cologne and NRW, but we also cooperate nationwide and Europe-wide and introduce you to great people from Germany and Europe. In addition to the live shows, the c/o pop Festival will also broadcast a lot of video content with musicians* in special formats. You can look forward to funny stories about adventure, sports, animals and prank.

The program of the c/o pop Convention, the (usually) first German industry meeting of the year for the music industry, is also all about pop culture. We will be highlighting the effects of the pandemic on the music industry, discussing the development of music and concerts in streams, and providing up-and-coming bands with lots of tools and new marketing concepts for their changing self-presentation.

If everything works out as we expect it to, it will be a great new event with other, more comprehensive challenges. We see c/o pop xoxo as an opportunity to try out new things in terms of content, technology and communication, to create special formats and think up concepts that would not have been possible at a regular event. We are therefore very much looking forward to the 4 days from 21 to 24 October, even though we are naturally sad that many concerts, talks and workshops cannot take place as planned for April. As Rhinelanders* we look positively into the future and say: "Et hätt noch emmer joot jejange.

Stream

All information about our stream as well as program points and times can be found here on the site from October 14, 2020.

c/o pop xoxo combines live events compliant with the COVID-19 regulations with new digital formats. The experimental concept includes concerts, interviews, talks, workshops and showcases of all kinds. Be curious and get ready for over 120 program items!

Attending the Convention Live?

The c/o pop Convention is a conference for professionals from the music and media industry and for young artists at the beginnings of their careers. That's why, normally, we offer our visitors many panel discussions, talks, interviews, workshops and tutorials to discuss current issues of the industry, identify problems and pass on specific know-how. Additionally, the convention always offers plenty of space and time for networking. Since these kinds of meetings are not possible at the moment, we are shifting our convention program to the World Wide Web. Panels, talks and interviews will be shown live in the streams. Furthermore, we will provide breakout sessions via video call software, i.e. workshops, that take place apart from the stream. There, you can examine specific topics, almost like in normal workshops.

Tickets

You don’t need tickets to attend at c/o pop xoxo’s. The program presented in our stream and on our social media channels is free of charge and publicly accessible. Should the Corona situation allow it, we will give away tickets for (a few) live concerts via Facebook and Instagram. Just follow us! Due to Corona, it won’t be possible to purchase on-site tickets for the Convention program either. Only the Breakout Sessions require pre-registrations free of charge. The free c/o pop Convention Online Ticket is available here. As soon as you have an Online Ticket, you can register for the Breakout Sessions.

Delegates Database and Networking

With the c/o pop xoxo Convention Online Ticket you get the opportunity to network and exchange ideas with other participants in the Delegates Database. Free of charge!

Funding

The c/o pop Festival and the c/o pop Convention are cooperation partners for three funding projects:

MUSIC HUB GERMANY

The sponsorship project »music hub germany« has been taking place for several years as part of the c/o pop Festival. This project, initiated by the festival organizers and supported by the federal government, focuses on the targeted promotion of local, regional and national up-and-coming artists. This has always been an important factor for the festival organizers. Thanks to the »music hub germany« project, the promotion of young artists can be further expanded this year: By now, around 80 % of the bands booked for the c/o pop festival originate in Germany – in 2019, around 60 young German bands will be able to present themselves to an international audience during c/o Ehrenfeld. With music hub germany, the organizers of the c/o pop Festival initiate and establish an exchange with other festival organizers as well as with agencies, labels and media from more than 25 countries. The project is supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and Initiative Musik. The past few years have shown that the concept is working: several national acts such as The Whitest Boy Alive, BrandtBrauerFrick, Moderat, Roosevelt, Dillon and AnnenMayKantereit have played at the festival long before their breakthrough and prove that the c/o pop Festival is an ideal stepping stone – also for international success.


WUNDERKINDER - GERMAN MUSIC TALENT

In 2019, the project »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« took place for the first time in Cologne as part of c/o Ehrenfeld. It was initiated in 2013 by the organizers of Reeperbahn Festival. The aim of the sponsorship program is to present the music industry with particularly promising local talents who have a good chance of an international career. "With the Cologne edition of »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« we want to establish a stepping stone for Hamburg, which excellently complements the c/o pop's activities and programs to promote young German acts", says Norbert Oberhaus, Managing Director of cologne on pop GmbH. The following ten musical acts from the »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« program already performed at c/o pop Festival: Kelvyn Colt, Gianni Mae, Serious Klein, BLVTH, Amilli, Sofia Portanet, NOVAA, Luke Noa, ELI and Moli. Two of these prodigies then had the chance to play at the Reeperbahn Festival and participated in an international project that took the artists to Nashville, Beijing and New York. "Since it was founded in 2013, 60 national artists and about 150 international talent buyers have taken part in our »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« program. Since then, many of the participating musicians have also established themselves in markets outside Germany. I am pleased that thanks to the extended support of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, we are given the opportunity to expand the program. Thanks to the cooperation with our friends at c/o pop, we can now support even more talents from Germany on their way into the international market", said Alexander Schulz, Director of Reeperbahn Festival.

WE ARE EUROPE

The »We Are Europe« project is a unique, innovative exchange for artists and the industry with the aim of promoting culture and music. In 2015, eight festivals from all over Europe joined forces for this project, in order to bundle synergies and to bring artists, personalities and speakers together and make them better known beyond their own national borders. Artists from the fields of music, digital and contemporary culture can present themselves at the various festivals and enter into dialogue with one another. Thus the festival organizers would like to set impulses in the field of culture and politics. One of these partners is the c/o pop Festival. During the festival, Hauschka and Lena Willikens, for example, performed and discussions and workshops took place during the c/o pop Convention within the scope of the participating festivals. In addition to the c/o pop Festival, the following festivals are also involved in the project: Elevate (Graz), Sónar (Barcelona), Reworks (Thessaloniki), Unsound (Krakow), Nuits Sonores (Lyon), Insomnia (Tromsø) and TodaysArt (The Hague).

Further information: https://weare-europe.eu/en/home/

Design

Our beautiful design comes from the agency Neue Gestaltung. The font we use was created by Dynamo Typefaces.

App

Our App will soon be available for free download App and Google Play Store!

Contact

The c/o pop Convention and the c/o pop Festival is operated by:

cologne on pop GmbH
Heliosstr. 6a
D - 50825 Köln

Fon +49 221 998 911 00
Fax +49 221 998 911 99
E-Mail: info@c-o-pop.de

FAQ

Über c/o pop xoxo

Die c/o pop xoxo ist eine Special Edition des c/o pop Festivals und der c/o pop Convention im Oktober 2020. Da wir nicht vorhersehen können, wie die Corona-Lage im Oktober sein wird, planen wir vorrangig digital - aber mit Option auf kleine analoge Live-Veranstaltungen mit wenig Publikum vor Ort. Wir senden live auf einer Online-Multi-Channel-Plattform, wenn möglich mit exklusivem Publikum vor Ort und ergänzt durch Aktivitäten auf unseren Social Media-Kanälen. Wir möchten ein pandemiegerechtes Event schaffen, das für die Zuschauer*innen, Künstler*innen und das Team sicher ist und trotzdem Spaß macht. Es sollen sich alle wohl fühlen und die c/o pop xoxo als besonderes Event in Erinnerung behalten.

Konzerte live erleben

Mit unserem Partner HERBRAND’s Ehrenfeld haben wir eine Location, die sehr weiträumig ist und sich in mehrere Räume gliedert. So können wir die Produktionen vor Ort gut entzerren. Sollten Veranstaltungen mit Publikum Ende Oktober weiterhin zulässig sein, werden wir Karten verlosen und eine kleine Anzahl Menschen einladen, die Konzerte live im HERBRAND’s zu sehen. Da die Sicherheit aller Beteiligten für uns höchste Priorität hat, wird es umfangreiche Maßnahmen zu Hygiene und Abstandseinhaltung vor Ort geben. Hier sind wir besonders auf die Mithilfe der Besucher*innen und Künstler*innen angewiesen - denn nur, wenn sich alle an die Regeln halten, kann eine solche Veranstaltung funktionieren.

Programm

Unser komplettes Programm findet ihr hier auf der Seite ab dem 14. Oktober 2020!

Das für April geplante Programm können wir leider nicht 1:1 im Oktober abbilden, vor allem die vielen Punkte mit internationalen Künstler*inn und Speaker*innen. Dafür supporten wir einmal mehr unsere lokale Szene in Köln und NRW, kooperieren aber auch bundes- und europaweit und stellen euch tolle Menschen aus Deutschland und Europa vor. Das c/o pop Festival wird neben den Live-Shows auch sehr viel Videocontent mit Musiker*innen in Sonderformaten senden. Freut euch auf witzige Stories aus den Themenfeldern Adventure, Sport, Tiere und Prank. Dazu gibt es Aktivitäten auf unseren Social Media-Kanälen.

Auch bei den Programmpunkten der c/o pop Convention, dem (normalerweise) ersten deutschen Branchentreff des Jahres für die Musikwirtschaft, dreht sich alles um das Thema Popkultur. Wir werden die Auswirkungen der Pandemie auf die Musikbranche beleuchten, die Entwicklung von Musik und Konzerten in Streams erörtern, und aufsteigenden Bands viel Handwerkszeug und neue Marketingkonzepte für die sich veränderte Selbstdarstellung liefern.

Wenn alles so klappt, wie wir uns das vorstellen, wird es ein tolles neues Event mit anderen, umfassenderen Herausforderungen. Wir sehen c/o pop xoxo als Chance, inhaltlich, technisch und kommunikativ Neues auszuprobieren, Sonderformate zu kreieren und Konzepte zu denken, die es bei einer regulären Veranstaltung nicht gegeben hätte. Daher freuen wir uns sehr auf die 4 Tage vom 21. bis zum 24. Oktober, auch wenn wir natürlich traurig sind, dass viele Konzerte, Talks und Workshops nicht wie für April geplant stattfinden können. Als Rheinländer*innen blicken wir positiv in die Zukunft und sagen: “Et hätt noch emmer joot jejange.”

Stream

Alle Infos zu unserem Stream sowie Programmpunkten und Uhrzeiten findet ihr hier auf der Seite ab dem 14. Oktober 2020.

c/o pop xoxo kombiniert ganz pandemiegerecht Live-Events mit neuen digitalen und interaktiven Formaten. Das experimentelle Konzept umfasst Konzerte, Interviews und Highlights eurer Lieblingsacts, spannende Talks zur aktuellen Lage, Workshops für junge Musiker*innen, Aktivitäten auf unseren Social Media-Kanälen, und und und. Seid gespannt auf unsere über 120 Programmpunkte!

Convention live erleben?

Die c/o pop Convention ist eine Konferenz für Professionals aus der Musik- und Medienbranche sowie für junge Künstler*innen, die am Anfang ihrer Karriere stehen. Darum bieten wir unseren Besucher*innen regulär viele Panel-Diskussionen, Talks, Interviews und Workshops, um aktuelle Themenfelder der Branche zu beleuchten, Probleme aufzudecken und spezifisches Know-How weiterzugeben. Darüber hinaus bietet die Convention immer viel Raum und Zeit zum Vernetzen. Da diese Art des Zusammentreffens derzeit nicht möglich ist, verlagern wir auch unser Convention-Programm ins World Wide Web. Panels, Talks und Interviews werden live in den Streams gezeigt. Darüber hinaus gibt es sogenannte Breakout Sessions, das heißt Workshops, die abseits vom Stream über eine Videocall-Software stattfinden. Hier könnt ihr intensiv zu bestimmten Themen arbeiten, fast wie in normalen Workshops.

Tickets

Für die c/o pop xoxo gibt es keine Tickets zum Kauf. Das Programm im Stream und auf unseren Social Media-Kanälen ist für alle Menschen kostenlos und frei zugänglich. Falls Corona es zulässt, verlosen wir Tickets für einige (wenige) Livekonzerte via Facebook und Instagram. Auch für das Convention-Programm können Corona-bedingt keine Tickets erworben werden. Lediglich für die Breakout Sessions ist eine kostenlose Anmeldung erforderlich. Das kostenlose c/o pop Convention Online-Ticket gibt es hier. Sobald ihr ein Online-Ticket habt, könnt ihr euch für die Breakout Sessions anmelden.

Delegates Database and Networking

Mit dem c/o pop xoxo Convention Online-Ticket habt ihr zusätzlich auch die Möglichkeit, euch in der Delegates Database mit anderen Teilnehmer*innen zu vernetzen und auszutauschen. Ebenfalls for free!

Förderprojekte

Förderprojekte Nationale und Internationale Nachwuchsförderung

Das c/o pop Festival ist in diesem Jahr Kooperationspartner von drei Förderprojekten:

music hub germany

Das Förderprojekt »music hub germany«findet bereits seit drei Jahren im Rahmen des c/o pop Festivals statt. Bei diesem von den Festivalmachern ins Leben gerufenen und vom Bund geförderten Projekt liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der gezielten Förderung lokaler, regionaler und nationaler Nachwuchskünstlerinnen und -künstler. Für die Festivalmacher war das schon immer eine wichtige Säule. Dank des Projekts music hub germany kann die Nachwuchsförderung in diesem Jahr noch weiter ausgebaut werden: Inzwischen kommen ca. 80 % der gebuchten Bands beim c/o pop Festival aus Deutschland – so können sich 2019 circa 60 deutsche Nachwuchsbands während c/o Ehrenfeld bei freiem Eintritt einem internationalen Publikum präsentieren. Mit dem music hub germany initiieren und etablieren die Macher des c/o pop Festivals den Austausch mit anderen Festivalmachern sowie mit Agenturen, Labels und Medien aus über 25 Ländern. Das Projekt wird durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien und der Initiative Musik gefördert.

Dass das Konzept funktioniert, zeigen die vergangenen Jahre: Etliche nationale Acts wie The Whitest Boy Alive, BrandtBrauerFrick, Moderat, Roosevelt, Dillon und AnnenMayKantereit spielten lange vor ihrem Durchbruch im Rahmen des Festivals und liefern den Beweis dafür, dass das c/o pop Festival ein optimales Sprungbrett ist – auch für den internationalen Erfolg.

Wunderkinder – German Music Talent

Das Projekt »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« findet 2019 im Rahmen von c/o Ehrenfeld erstmalig auch in Köln statt. Es wurde 2013 von den Machern des Reeperbahn Festivals ins Leben gerufen. Ziel des Förderprogramms ist es, der Musikbranche besonders vielversprechende Talente aus der Heimat zu präsentieren, die eine gute Chance auf eine internationale Karriere haben. Mit der Köln-Edition von »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« wollen wir ein Sprungbrett nach Hamburg etablieren, das sich hervorragend mit den Aktivitäten und Programmen zur Förderung deutscher Nachwuchs-Acts im Rahmen des c/o pop Festivals ergänzt,« so Norbert Oberhaus, Geschäftsführer cologne on pop GmbH. Die folgenden zehn musikalischen Acts aus dem »Wunderkinder«-Programm treten in diesem Jahr auf dem c/o pop Festival auf: Kelvyn Colt, Gianni Mae, Serious Klein, BLVTH, Amilli, Sofia Portanet, NOVAA, Luke Noa, ELI und Moli. Zwei dieser Wunderkinder bekommen danach die Chance, beim Reeperbahn Festival zu spielen sowie an einem internationalen Projekt teilzunehmen, das die Künstlerinnen und Künstler in diesem Jahr nach Nashville, Peking und New York führt. »Seit der Gründung in 2013 haben 60 nationale Künstler*innen und rund 150 internationale Talent Buyer unser Programm »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent« durchlaufen. Viele der teilnehmenden Musiker*innen sind seither auch in Märkten außerhalb Deutschlands etabliert. Ich freue mich, dass wir Dank der erweiterten Unterstützung durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien die Chance erhalten, das Programm auszubauen. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Freunden bei der c/o pop können wir nun noch mehr Talente aus Deutschland bei ihrem internationalen Markteintritt begünstigen«, so Alexander Schulz, der Direktor des Reeperbahn Festivals.

We Are Europe

Das Projekt »We Are Europe« ist ein einzigartiger, innovativer Branchen- und Künstleraustausch mit dem Ziel, Kultur und Musik zu fördern. Für das Projekt haben sich im Jahr 2015 acht Festivals aus ganz Europa zusammengetan, um Synergien zu bündeln und Artists, Persönlichkeiten und Speaker über die eigenen Landesgrenzen hinweg zusammenzubringen und bekannter zu machen. Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus den Bereichen Musik, Digitales und zeitgenössische Kultur können sich auf den verschiedenen Festivals präsentieren und miteinander in den Dialog treten. So möchten die Festivalmacher Impulse setzen im Bereich Kultur und Politik. Einer dieser Partner ist das c/o pop Festival. Im Rahmen des Festivals treten aus dem Programm beispielsweise Hauschka oder Lena Willikens auf, zudem finden während der c/o pop Convention Diskussionen und Workshops im Rahmen der beteiligten Festivals auf. Neben dem c/o pop Festival sind folgende Festivals am Projekt beteiligt: Elevate (Graz), Sónar (Barcelona), Reworks (Thessaloniki), Unsound (Krakau), Nuits Sonores (Lyon), Insomnia (Tromsø) und TodaysArt(Den Haag).

Weitere Infos: https://weare-europe.eu/en/home/

Design

Unser wunderschönes Design kommt von der Agentur Neue Gestaltung. Die Schrift die wir verwenden wurde kreiert von Dynamo Typefaces.

App

Unsere App ist bald zum kostenlosen für download App und Google Play Store erhältlich!

Kontakt

Die c/o pop Convention und das c/o pop Festival werden veranstaltet von:

cologne on pop GmbH
Heliosstr. 6a
D - 50825 Köln

Fon +49 221 998 911 00
Fax +49 221 998 911 99
E-Mail: info@c-o-pop.de