#copopxoxo21
Die Höchste Eisenbahn ©MarcoSensche
Die Höchste Eisenbahn

The concert is presented by Deutschlandfunk Nova.

The band Die Höchste Eisenbahn started more as a project. First consisting of the singer-songwriter Francesco Wilking, who writes short stories as well as musical poetry, and Moritz Krämer, the two musicians Max Schröder and Felix Weigt joined the project in 2012. Three albums later, you can already say that it is no longer a project, but a German pop band that is unparalleled in the German-language music landscape. The way they tell stories through their music, creating a very personal connection, is special. Their lyrics are often about longing, loss and world-weariness. But at the same time, they are always searching for their own self. Last year Die höchste Eisenbahn recorded a three-song EP with three live versions of the songs Louise, Zieh mich an and Überall.


JEREMIAS ©luciovignolo
JEREMIAS

If you mix a little bit of Parcels with a little bit of Tom Misch and Men I Trust as sources of inspiration, the result is disco funk that no one can stand still for. JEREMIAS, four guys from Hanover with an average age of 20 years, are probably no longer an insider tip. With their first EP Du musst an den Frühling glauben they played some festivals and support shows for Giant Rooks or Ok Kid in 2019. That the quartet is well received, you can tell already by the fact that their fans sold out 18 shows of their first own tour completely. Last year they released their second EP alma - the soul in Spanish. "It's an EP about love and sorrow. However theatrical it may seem, that inspired us significantly," says the band about their second record. And that's what JEREMIAS is all about: funky and groovy songs that you can't help but dance along to, alongside beautiful ballads that quite touch you.

Martin Kohlstedt ©J_Konrad_Schmidt
Martin Kohlstedt

Martin Kohlstedt describes his way of working as modular composing. The pieces are in constant motion and do not follow a fixed form even during live performances. The success of his previous albums TAG, NACHT, STROM and STRÖME show that his skills are also internationally recognized. With his new album FLUR, which was released in November last year, he continues his previous work. Improvisation is as important to him as eye level with the audience, the courage to fail and the interaction with space, people and context.

IUMA ©Frederike Wetzels
IUMA

IUMA seems outwardly as a young artist and woman mostly self-confident, but in many situations she makes herself much stronger than she really is. That's why she describes herself as "cool on the outside, a victim at heart". That being an adult in this world is not always easy and can quickly overwhelm you, knows IUMA too. Her lyrics, which she cleverly dresses in a contemporary garb of pop, trap and an avant-garde production, tell us about this. She shows us a self-chosen, contemporary image of women, which wavers between emancipation and conformity and manages to emancipate itself precisely because of this. It all adds up to a picture of forward-looking pop music: Innovation, content and emotion.

Words with Carla Kaspari ©Susi Bumms
Words with Carla Kaspari

Carla Kaspari lives as a freelance author in Cologne. She publishes her texts in various newspapers and magazines. Since 2019, her prose column "nelke-schneewittchen und alfalfa" has appeared regularly in metamorphosen (magazine for literature and culture, Verbrecher-Verlag, Berlin). In 2020, she was a scholarship holder of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia as part of the author project "stadt.land.text". In November 2020, she was awarded 3rd place in the Cologne Literary Festival's sponsorship prize. Currently, she walks a lot and juggles a soccer ball from time to time.

Telquist ©Gerbert&Dürst
Telquist

The concert is presented by Deutschlandfunk Nova.

Sebastian Eggerbauer, better known as Telquist, is one of the most exciting rising indie artists Germany has to offer. With his songs like Mojo or Trash Talk, he has already been able to play his way into the top rankings of the German university radio charts. In them, Telquist sings his usual laid-back, but with ambition to speed of self-expression, demarcation, coolness and the flight to the front. His musical socialization is broad. In his youth he played bass in indie, reggae and ska-punk bands. So it's not surprising that his songs move somewhere between doubtful dejection and pure euphoria.

Antonia Baum ©Andreas Hornoff
Antonia Baum

Antonia Baum is a German author and journalist whose work focuses on rap, feminism and literature. In addition to two published novels and her monthly column "Mein Leben als Frau" (My Life as a Woman) for Zeit Online, she has also written a book for the Kiwi Music Library series about Eminem. In it, she wonders how a woman can pull off the contortion of loving rap while being constantly insulted.

SALOMEA ©Karl F. Degenhardt
SALOMEA

Love, respect and honesty is the credo of SALOMEA. Their music pushes boundaries, it is a profound entertainment, it is art. This also demands real listening, but at the same time gives so much. With their music, Rebekka Salomea and her band, consisting of Yannis Anft, Olilver Lutz and Leif Berger, draw a blueprint of the music of the future. The band's second album Bathing in Flowers is a unique melting pot of jazz soaked in hiphop, RnB and varieties of contemporary electronic music.

Bokoya
Bokoya

Bokoya functions like a creative drum computer. The four young musicians from Cologne and Bielefeld improvise freely in the field of tension between repetition and variation. Somewhere between hip hop and jazz. Ferdinand Schwarz, Darius Heid, Lukas Wilmsmeyer and Leon Raum build beats, shape songs, create spheres of sound and pushing grooves - all live on stage and completely connected to the moment. The band's extreme spontaneity creates an extraordinary and powerful connection with audience, space and vibe. Whether on the festival stage, in the club or in the living room, the longer you listen, the more you are part of the whole. And creates a new world together.

Dance Challenge with Flockey Ocscor ©Marquis
Dance Challenge with Flockey Ocscor

Flockey Ocscor is an internationally sought-after dancer and choreographer with great charisma. He is one of the most famous dancers worldwide. Over several years he has won numerous competitions and is a two-time runner-up in the Locking category at the Juste Debout World Final. He is not only a talented dancer, but also an incredible artist who produces his own short films. In 2018, at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut Rwanda, Flockey created a performance of music, dance and storytelling with artists from West Africa as part of the DigiTales across borders project.

GiiRL ©Rieke de Vrieß
GiiRL

GiiRL - the duo consisting of Milan Hofmann and Dennis Hölscher - have already played their way through some renowned Cologne clubs in 2017 with their first EP "Drowning". Nothing is missing for the two-man band: the virtuoso guitar playing of Milan and the drumming skills of Dennis provide a unique sound, where both the highest and lowest notes come from the complex sounds of Milan's guitar. Only a bass synthesizer supports the two on stage.


Their talent was practically laid in the cradle of the two. Milan, son of the legendary Cologne music producer Wolfgang Stach, started playing the violin and guitar at a very early age. He also began studying guitar at the Cologne Music Academy at the age of 16. Dennis has also been playing the drums since he was 9 years old. "Dennis' incredible musical sensitivity and energy are an extreme incentive and catalyst for me in this," says Milan. "We complement and inspire each other in a unique way. We don't need clear procedures, one look is enough and we know where we're going."

#copopxoxo21
Die Höchste Eisenbahn ©MarcoSensche
Die Höchste Eisenbahn

Das Konzert wird präsentiert von Deutschlandfunk Nova.

Die Band Die Höchste Eisenbahn startete eher als ein Projekt. Zuerst bestehend aus dem Singer-Songwriter Francesco Wilking, der neben musikalischer Lyrik auch Kurzgeschichten schreibt, und Moritz Krämer, kamen 2012 die beiden Musiker Max Schröder und Felix Weigt zu dem Projekt dazu. Drei Alben später kann man schon sagen, dass es kein Projekt mehr ist, sondern eine deutsche Pop-Band die ihresgleichen in der deutschsprachigen Musiklandschaft sucht. Die Art und Weise, wie sie durch ihre Musik Geschichten erzählen und damit einen ganz persönlichen Bezug schaffen, ist besonders. Ihre Texte handeln oft von Sehnsucht, Verlust und Weltschmerz. Aber gleichzeitig sind sie immer auf der Suche nach dem eigenen Ich. Letztes Jahr hat Die höchste Eisenbahn eine drei-Song-EP aufgenommen mit drei Live-Versionen der Songs Louise,Zieh mich anund Überall.


JEREMIAS ©luciovignolo
JEREMIAS

Mischt man ein bisschen Parcels mit ein bisschen Tom Misch und Men I Trust als Inspirationsquellen, kommt dabei Disko-Funk heraus, bei dem keiner mehr still stehen kann. JEREMIAS, vier Jungs aus Hannover mit einem Altersdurchschnitt von 20 Jahren, sind wohl schon lange kein Geheimtipp mehr. Mit ihrer ersten EP Du musst an den Frühling glauben haben sie im Jahr 2019 einige Festivals und Supportshows für Giant Rooks oder Ok Kid gespielt. Dass das Quartett gut ankommt, merkt man schon daran, dass ihre Fans 18 Shows der ersten eigenen Tour restlos ausverkauft haben. Letztes Jahr veröffentlichten sie ihre zweite EP alma - die Seele auf spanisch. “Es ist eine EP über die Liebe und den Kummer. Wie theatralisch es auch scheinen mag, hat uns das maßgeblich inspiriert”, sagt die Band zu ihrer zweiten Platte. Und das macht JEREMIAS aus: funky und groovy Songs, bei denen man nicht anders kann als mitzutanzen, neben wunderschönen Balladen, die einen ganz schön berühren.

Martin Kohlstedt ©J_Konrad_Schmidt
Martin Kohlstedt

Martin Kohlstedt bezeichnet seine Art des Arbeitens als modulares Komponieren. Die Stücke sind in ständiger Bewegung und folgen auch bei live Auftritten keiner festen Form. Dass sein Können auch internationale Anerkennung findet zeigen die Erfolge seiner bisherigen Alben TAG, NACHT, STROM und STRÖME. Mit seinem neuen Album FLUR, das im November letzten Jahres erschienen ist, knüpft er an sein bisheriges Schaffen an. Improvisation ist ihm ebenso wichtig, wie AUgenhöhe mit dem Publikum, der Mut zu Scheitern und die Interaktion mit Raum, Mensch und Kontext.

IUMA ©Frederike Wetzels
IUMA

IUMA scheint nach außen als junge Künstlerin und Frau meist selbstbewusst, aber in vielen Situationen macht sie sich viel stärker, als sie es wirklich ist. Deswegen beschreibt sie sich selbst auch als “außen cool, Im Herzen ein Opfer”. Dass das Erwachsensein ist dieser Welt nicht immer leicht ist und einen schnell überfordern kann, weiß IUMA auch. Davon erzählen ihre Texte, die sie geschickt in ein zeitgenössisches Gewand von Pop, Trap und einer avantgardistischen Produktion kleidet. Sie zeigt uns ein selbstgewähltes, zeitgenössisches Frauenbild, welches zwischen Emanzipation und Anpassung wankt und schafft es gerade dadurch, sich selbst zu emanzipieren. Das alles fügt sich zu einem Bild der zukunftsweisenden Popmusik zusammen: Innovation, Inhalte und Emotionen.

Wörter mit Carla Kaspari ©Susi Bumms
Wörter mit Carla Kaspari

Carla Kaspari lebt als freie Autorin in Köln. Sie veröffentlicht ihre Texte in diversen Zeitungen und Magazinen. Seit 2019 erscheint ihre Prosa-Kolumne „nelke-schneewittchen und alfalfa“ regelmäßig bei metamorphosen (Magazin für Literatur und Kultur, Verbrecher-Verlag, Berlin). 2020 war sie im Rahmen des Autor*innen-Projekts „stadt.land.text“ Stipendiatin des Landes NRW. Im November 2020 erhielt sie den 3. Platz des Förderpreises der Kölner Literaturtage. Aktuell geht sie viel spazieren und jongliert hin und wieder einen Fußball.

Telquist ©Gerbert&Dürst
Telquist

Das Konzert wird präsentiert von Deutschlandfunk Nova.

Der Anfang 20 Jährige Sebastian Eggerbauer, besser bekannt als Telquist, ist einer der spannendsten aufsteigenden Indie-Artists, die Deutschland zu bieten hat. Mit seinen Songs wie Mojo oder Trash Talk hat er sich bereits in die Top Platzierungen der deutschen Hochschulradiocharts spielen können. Darin singt Telquist gewohnt laid-back, aber mit Ambition zur Geschwindigkeit von Selbstdarstellung, Abgrenzung, Coolness und der Flucht nach vorne. Seine musikalische Sozialisation ist breit gefächert. In seiner Jugend spielte er Bass in Indie, Reggae und Ska-Punk Bands. Da ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass seine Songs sich irgendwo zwischen zweifelnder Niedergeschlagenheit und purer Euphorie bewegen.

Antonia Baum über Eminem ©Andreas Hornoff
Antonia Baum über Eminem

Antonia Baum ist eine deutsche Autorin und Journalistin, die sich in ihrer Arbeit vor allem mit den Themenbereichen Rap, Feminismus und Literatur beschäftigt. Neben zwei veröffentlichten Romanen und ihrer monatlichen Kolumne “Mein Leben als Frau” bei Zeit Online, hat sie auch ein Buch für die Kiwi Musikbibliothek Reihe über Eminem geschrieben. Darin fragt sie sich, wie man als Frau die Verrenkung hinkriegt, Rap zu lieben und sich dabei permanent beleidigen zu lassen.

SALOMEA ©Karl F. Degenhardt
SALOMEA

Liebe, Respekt und Ehrlichkeit ist das Kredo von SALOMEA. Ihre Musik verschiebt Grenzen, sie ist eine tiefgründige Unterhaltung, sie ist Kunst. Das fordert zwar auch echtes Zuhören, aber gibt gleichzeitig so viel. Mit ihrer Musik zeichnen Rebekka Salomea und ihre Band, bestehend aus Yannis Anft, Olilver Lutz und Leif Berger, einen Entwurf der Musik der Zukunft. Das zweite Album der Band Bathing in Flowers ist ein einzigartiger Schmelztiegel aus in Hiphop getränkten Jazz, RnB und Spielarten zeitgenössischer elektronischer Musik.

Bokoya
Bokoya

Bokoya funktioniert wie ein kreativer Drumcomputer. Die vier jungen Musiker aus Köln und Bielefeld improvisieren frei im Spannungsfeld zwischen Wiederholung und Variation. Irgendwo zwischen Hip Hop und Jazz. Ferdinand Schwarz, Darius Heid, Lukas Wilmsmeyer und Leon Raum bauen Beats, formen Songs, kreieren Soundsphären und schiebende Grooves - alles live auf der Bühne und völlig mit dem Moment verbunden. Die extreme Spontanität der Band schafft eine außergewöhnliche und starke Verbindung mit Publikum, Raum und Vibe. Egal ob auf der Festivalbühne, im Club oder im Wohnzimmer, je länger man zuhört, desto mehr ist man Teil des Ganzen. Und schafft gemeinsam eine neue Welt.

Dance Challenge mit Flockey Ocscor ©Marquis
Dance Challenge mit Flockey Ocscor

Flockey Ocscor ist ein international gefragter Tänzer und Choreograf mit großen Charisma. Er zählt zu den bekanntesten Tänzern Weltweit. Über mehrere Jahre gewann er zahlreiche Wettbewerbe und ist zweifacher Vizeweltmeister in der Kategorie Locking beim Juste Debout World Final. Er ist nicht nur tänzerisch begabt, sondern auch ein unglaublicher Künstler der seine eigenen Kurzfilme produziert. Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Ruanda kreierte Flockey 2018 eine Performance aus Musik, Tanz und Storytelling mit Künstler*innen aus Westafrika im Rahmen des Projekts DigiTales across borders.

GiiRL ©Rieke de Vrieß
GiiRL

GiiRL - das Duo bestehend aus Milan Hofmann und Dennis Hölscher - haben sich bereits im Jahr 2017 mit ihrer ersten EP “Drowning” durch einige namhafte kölner Clubs gespielt. Dabei fehlt der zweimann Band nichts: Das virtuose Gitarrenspiel von Milan und die Trommelkünste von Dennis sorgen für einen einzigartigen Sound, bei dem sowohl die höchsten und tiefsten Töne aus den komplexen Klängen von Milans Gitarre kommen. Lediglich ein Bass-Synthesizer unterstützt die beiden auf der Bühne.