#copop20
MALKA

MALKA

Glasgow / UK

Samstag 25.04

Helios37
Heliosstraße 37
50825 Cologne

Free admission

Tamara Schlesinger first made waves on the music scene as the front-woman of acclaimed alt-folk collective 6 Day Riot and also as a prolific songwriter. Her past work has been included in a host of high-profile syncs for TV series and Hollywood blockbusters – most notably Skins, Scream 4 and 127 Hours. Her voice can also be heard in Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels.

Now as MALKA - she weaves mesmeric percussive rhythms among a charge of irresistible call and response chants and instantaneous melodies. She explores a carnival of global sounds intertwined with an explorative affirming message.

MALKA's highly praised debut album "Marching to Another Beat" received steady support at 6music from the likes of Lauren Laverne and Steve Lamacq and syncs on both MTV and Netflix. Her lead single ‘Breakout’ received regular play on BBC 6music, Radio X and was playlisted on BBC Radio Scotland. She graced the stage supporting Fujiya and Miyagi and played festival slots at Camp Bestival and Secret Garden Party over the summer.

MALKA’s new album ‘Rata-tat-tat’ was released in October 2017 to wide critical acclaim.

Scottish Showcase presented by Antidote Booking

Artist Links:

#copop20
Artists
MALKA

MALKA

Glasgow / UK

Samstag 25.04

Helios37
Heliosstraße 37
50825 Cologne

Eintritt frei

Tamara Schlesinger machte als Frontfrau des gefeierten Alt-Folk-Kollektivs 6 Day Riot und als produktive Songschreiberin erstmals Schlagzeilen in der Musikszene. Ihre bisherige Arbeit wurde in eine Reihe von hochkarätigen Synchronisationen für Fernsehserien und Hollywood-Blockbuster aufgenommen - vor allem in Skins, Scream 4 und 127 Hours. Ihre Stimme ist auch in Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels zu hören.

Jetzt als MALKA verwebt sie hypnotische perkussive Rhythmen mit einer Ladung unwiderstehlicher Ruf- und Antwortgesänge und augenblicklichen Melodien. Sie erforscht einen Karneval globaler Klänge, die mit einer forschenden, affirmativen Botschaft verflochten sind.

MALKAs hochgelobtes Debütalbum "Marching to Another Beat" erhielt bei 6music stetige Unterstützung von Leuten wie Lauren Laverne und Steve Lamacq und wurde sowohl auf MTV als auch auf Netflix synchronisiert. Ihre Lead-Single “Breakout" wurde regelmäßig bei BBC 6music und Radio X gespielt und war auf der Playlist von BBC Radio Scotland zu hören. Sie stand als Support für Fujiya und Miyagi auf der Bühne und trat bei Festivals wie Camp Bestival und Secret Garden Party auf.

MALKA's neues Album "Rata-tat-tat" wurde im Oktober 2017 unter großem Beifall der Kritik veröffentlicht.

Schottischer Showcase präsentiert von Antidote Booking

Artist Links: