#copop20
Luisa Babarro

Luisa Babarro

Berlin / Germany

Support Balbina / 22.04. / Kulturkirche / 32,00€ incl. fees

If everything had gone according to plan, Luisa Babarro would probably never have written a song herself. She would not have become part of Philipp Poisel's band, she never would have written her own songs on the cello. If everything had gone according to plan, Luisa would have become a cellist in an orchestra after her classical cello studies and would have lived very duly - not dissatisfied, but not entirely happy either.
It was the 2012 'Project Water Lily Pond' by Philipp Poisel that changed everything: After years of working with Poisel, the idea of writing music herself and accompanying it on the cello came about. The 2017 EP "Luisa Babarro" is an inventive symbiosis of the cello and Luisa's authentic voice. The 2016 release of her EP "Luisa Babarro" was followed by her own headliner tour and numerous support tours for Alin Coen, Alexa Feser and Philipp Poisel himself.
Last year, she went into the studio again, this time to continue the idea of the EP, to enlarge it - to create an album with 12 new, fresh tracks. The 2019 single "Schall und Rauch" energetically announced the album. In a relatively fast tempo, it tells a story about the connection of two people who can't find their way to each other anymore. Their relationship, as already described in the title, goes up in smoke. Whether it’s friendships or family relationships: The subject matter of each song captivates listeners with its meditative advancement, building up sound worlds that combine cinematic aspects with modern beats. Luisa Babarro reinvents herself with a new nuance in pronunciation and tempo. "Schall und Rauch" is an important milestone for Luisa Babarro and arouses curiosity about her debut album "Ich bin eine Andere" which was produced together with Poisel's producer Frank Pilsl (tape recorder, Elif) last year.

Artist Links:

#copop20
Luisa Babarro

Luisa Babarro

Berlin / Germany

Mittwoch 22.04

Kulturkirche
Siebachstraße 85
50733 Köln

Tickets kaufen

Support Balbina / 22.04. / Kulturkirche / 32,00€ zzgl. Gebühren

Wäre alles so gelaufen wie geplant, hätte Luisa Babarro wohl nie selbst ein Lied geschrieben. Sie wäre nicht Teil von Philipp Poisel´s Band geworden, hätte nie ihre eigenen Lieder auf dem Cello geschrieben. Wäre alles so gelaufen wie geplant wäre Luisa nach ihrem klassischen Cellostudium Cellistin in einem Orchester geworden und hätte sehr geordnet vor sich hin gelebt- nicht unzufrieden, aber auch nicht ganz glücklich.
Es war das ‚Projekt Seerosenteich’ von Philipp Poisel im Jahr 2012, das alles veränderte. Durch die jahrelange Zusammenarbeit mit Poisel entstand die Idee selbst Musik zu schreiben und diese auf dem Cello zu begleiten. Die 2017 veröffentlichte EP „Luisa Babarro“ bildet eine erfindungsreiche Symbiose des Cellos und Luisa’s authentischer Stimme. Auf die Veröffentlichung ihrer EP „Luisa Babarro" im Jahr 2016 folgte eine eigene Headliner Tour sowie zahlreiche Support Touren für Alin Coen, Alexa Feser und Philipp Poisel selbst.
Im letzten Jahr verschlug es die Musikerin erneut ins Studio, diesmal um die Idee der EP weiterzuführen, sie zu vergrößern – um ein Album mit 12 neuen, frischen Titeln. Die 2019 erscheinende Single „Schall und Rauch“ kündigt das Album energetisch an. In relativ schnellem Tempo wird die Geschichte der Verbindung zweier Menschen erzählt, die nicht mehr zu sich finden. Deren Beziehung, wie schon im Titel beschrieben, in Schall und Rauch aufgeht. Dabei kann von Freundschaften, aber auch von familiären Beziehungen die Rede sein. Trotz der Thematik, zieht das Lied einen mit seinem meditativen Vorantreiben in den Bann und baut Klangwelten auf, die cineastische Aspekte mit modernen Beats vereinigen. Luisa Babarro zeigt hier eine neue Nuance in Aussprache und Tempo, die man so von ihr noch nicht kennt. „Schall und Rauch“ ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein für Luisa Babarro und macht neugierig auf das Debütalbum „Ich bin eine
Andere“ welches gemeinsam mit Poisel’s Produzent Frank Pilsl (Tonbandgerät, Elif) im
vergangenen Jahr entstanden ist.

Artist Links: