Let’s talk about solidarity

Let’s talk about solidarity

Let’s talk about solidarity

Prospects on solidarity and society

April 24,
15:45–16:30

Performance & Talk @
Urania Theater

We want to devote an evening to solidarity: Questioning forms, exchanging knowledge, exploring boundaries. In the first part, Mazlum Nergiz and Leyla Yenrice perform the radio play "Helix" in which the protagonist chooses probably the most radical form of solidarity - armed struggle. In the second part of the evening, Katja Sigutina will talk to two experts and discuss together: What does solidarity mean anyway? 

"Helix" performance (15:45 - 16:30)

At the age of twenty-six, the young British woman Anna Campbell decides to join the Kurdish struggle for freedom. She leaves the safe fortress of Europe and dies in March 2018 in the Kurdish freedom struggle in Syria against the so-called Islamic State. "Political activism was in her DNA," her family says of Anna Campbell in interviews.

The live radio play Helix explores the story of this young woman who chooses struggle and unconditional international solidarity. In a polyphonic spiral of sound, there is an approach to trying to come to terms with the incomprehensibility of extremes and to connect what is too often assumed to be opposites: Feminism and war, longing and irony, pop culture and genocide.

Talk (16:30 - 18:00)

Events in Germany, Europe and around the world are leading to an increasing number of declarations of solidarity. In the age of digitalisation, solidarity activities have also established themselves in social media. Whether 2020 the black square as support for the Black Lives Matter movement, tiles with "We Remember" lettering annually on 9 November as a reminder of the Reichspogromnacht in the Nazi era, #saytheirnames on the anniversaries of the right-wing terrorist attack in Hanau or #standwithukraine as a current anti-war slogan and anti-imperialist position. 

Against this background, Katja Sigutina wants to enter into conversation and discussion with Mohamed Amjahid and Emilene Wopana Mudimu: What exactly does solidarity mean? What forms can it take, what is it for and how can a sustainable and fundamental consciousness be built and developed?"

Let's talk about solidarirty takes place within the framework of the funding project "c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " and is supported by the Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Let’s talk about solidarity

Let’s talk about solidarity

Let’s talk about solidarity

Perspektiven auf Solidarität und Gesellschaft

24. April

Talk @
Urania Theater

Wir wollen uns einen Abend lang der Solidarität widmen: Formen hinterfragen, Wissen austauschen, Grenzen abtasten. 
Im ersten Teil performen Mazlum Nergiz und Leyla Yenrice das Hörspiel „Helix“ in der die Protagonistin die wahrscheinlich radikalste Form der Solidarität wählt – den bewaffneten Kampf. Im zweiten Teil des Abends geht Katja Sigutina mit zwei Expert*innen ins Gespräch und will gemeinsam diskutieren: Was bedeutet Solidarität überhaupt? 

"Helix"- Performance (15:45 - 16:30)

Mit sechsundzwanzig Jahren beschließt die junge Britin Anna Campbell sich dem kurdischen Freiheitskampf anzuschließen. Sie verlässt die sichere Festung Europa und stirbt im März 2018 im kurdischen Freiheitskampf in Syrien gegen den sogenannten Islamischen Staat. „Political activism was in her DNA“, sagt ihre Familie in Interviews über Anna Campbell.

In dem Live-Hörspiel Helix wird die Geschichte dieser jungen Frau untersucht, die sich für den Kampf und bedingungslose internationale Solidarität entscheidet. In einer polyphonen Klangspirale erfolgt eine Annäherung an den Versuch, mit der Unbegreiflichkeit von Extremen zurecht zu kommen und zu verbinden, was viel zu oft als Gegensatz angenommen wird: Feminismus und Krieg, Sehnsucht und Ironie, Popkultur und Genozid.

Talk (16:45 - 18:00)

Die Ereignisse in Deutschland, Europa und der ganzen Welt führen dazu, das solidarische Bekundungen immer öfter formuliert werden. Im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung haben sich Solidaritätsaktivitäten auch in den Sozialen Medien etabliert. Ob 2020 das schwarze Quadrat als Unterstützung der Black Lives Matter Bewegung, Kacheln mit „We Remember“ Schriftzug jährlich zum 09.November als Erinnerung an die Reichspogromnacht in der NS-Zeit, #saytheirnames zu den Jahrestagen des rechtsterroristischen Attentats von Hanau oder #standwithukraine als aktuellen Antikriegsslogan und antiimperialistische Position. 

Vor diesem Hintergrund will Katja Sigutina gemeinsam mit Mohamed Amjahid und Emilene Wopana Mudimu ins Gespräch gehen und diskutieren: Was bedeutet Solidarität eigentlich genau? Welche Formen kann sie haben, wozu dient sie und wie kann ein nachhaltiges und grundlegendes Bewusstsein auf- und ausgebaut werden?"

Let's talk about Solidarity findet im Rahmen des Förderprojekts „c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " statt und wird durch die Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH mit Projektmitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien gefördert.

Helix Performance