#copopcon21
Speakers
Jan Kus
Photo: Jan Kus

Jan Kus

Co-Founder & CEO | Railslove

Jan is co-founder and CEO of Railslove, a Cologne-based agency for web applications and digital products, and hack.institute, a company that brings creative communities together with corporates. This is where hackathons, innovation events and workshops are created that contribute to sustainable cultural change and digital transformation in companies. Jan also helps start-ups to kickstart their business in the best possible way and offers due diligence services for investors. In the past he was co-founder of the Interactive Cologne Festival, a joint initiative of Railslove and the c/o pop music festival.

Financial Technology (FinTech) and Open Banking are the topics that make Jan's heart beat faster. He loves to develop software and other technologies and solutions that offer companies automated financial services. Together with the Railslove team, he has created the FinTech Weekly information platform.

Jan is also the owner of hackers & thinkers, a small venture capital company, and founding member of Dingfabrik – one of the first fablabs in Germany. Fun Fact: In 2010 Jan co-founded the first co-working space in Cologne (Gasmotorenfabrik Köln).

Jan has been a lecturer at the TH Cologne since 2012, where he also completed his master's degree in 2010. Until 2017 he taught the course “Web-based Applications”. Since 2018 he accompanies project work of students who develop an idea for a product or a service and create a concept to such an extent that a development team is able to realize a first prototype.

Motivation: Jan's goal is to establish solution-oriented teaching approaches. In the age of digitization, he uses modern methods and approaches such as Design Thinking, Sprint, Sprint 2.0 according to AJ&Smart and hackathons to allow students to apply the kind of methods they will need in their daily work.

Topics: Jan's main topics are entrepreneurship, New Work, Open Data, REST interfaces, Tech Due Diligences and prototyping and concept development.

#copopcon21
Speaker*innen
Jan Kus
Photo: Jan Kus

Jan Kus

Co-Founder & CEO | Railslove

Jan ist Co-Founder und CEO von Railslove, einer Kölner Agentur für Web-Anwendungen und digitale Produkte, sowie hack.institute, einem Unternehmen, das kreative Communities mit Corporates zusammenbringt. Hier entstehen Hackathons, Innovation Events und Workshops, die zu einem nachhaltigen Kulturwandel und digitaler Transformation in Unternehmen beitragen. Außerdem hilft Jan Startups, ihr Business bestmöglich zu starten und bietet Due Diligence Services für Investoren an. In der Vergangenheit war er Mitgründer des Interactive Cologne Festivals, einer gemeinsamen Initiative von Railslove und des c/o pop Musikfestivals.

Financial Technology (FinTech) und Open Banking ist das Themenfeld, das Jans Herz höherschlagen lässt. Er liebt es, Software und andere Technologien und Lösungen zu entwickeln, die Unternehmen automatisierte Finanzdienstleistungen anbieten. Zusammen mit dem Railslove-Team hat er die Informationsplattform FinTech Weekly auf die Beine gestellt.

Darüber hinaus ist Jan Inhaber von hackers & thinkers, einem kleinen Risikokapitalunternehmen, und Gründungsmitglied der Dingfabrik – eines der ersten Fablabs in Deutschland. Fun Fact: 2010 war Jan Mitbegründer des ersten Co-Working Space in Köln (Gasmotorenfabrik Köln).

Seit 2012 ist Jan Dozent an der TH Köln, wo er 2010 auch seinen Master absolvierte. Bis 2017 hat er den Kurs Webbasierte Anwendungen im dritten Bachelorsemester unterrichtet. Seit 2018 begleitet er Projektarbeiten von Studierenden, bei denen ein Konzept für ein Produkt oder einen Dienst so weit ausgearbeitet wird, dass ein Entwicklerteam in der Lage ist, den ersten Prototyp zu realisieren.

Motivation: Jans Ziel ist es, lösungsorientierte Lehransätze zu etablieren. Im Digitalisierungszeitalter möchte er mit modernen Methoden und Ansätzen wie Design Thinking, Sprint, Sprint 2.0 nach AJ&Smart und Hackathons aktive Lehre betreiben und somit Studierende selbst Methoden anwenden lassen, die sie auch im Arbeitsalltag brauchen.

Themen: Jans Schwerpunktthemen sind Unternehmertum/Gründung, New Work, Open Data, REST-Schnittstellen, Due Diligince, Prototyping und Konzeptentwicklung.