SMILE

SMILE

SMILE

April 23,
20:45–21:25

Concert @
Bumann und Sohn

In the biggest possible punk cliché, SMILE stems from repressed anger and grief - from experiencing a modern world that causes the pressure of having to fulfil a multitude of roles while remaining physically and mentally healthy. These conditions lead to permanently overburdened individuals who long for quick recovery. This is why SMILE is such an apt concept for this band: it symbolises the modern compulsion to keep up appearances while our skin burns, and the decision to face this world we have alienated ourselves from with an ironic attitude.

SMILE is not limited to expressing anger or channelling socially rooted emotions. They bridge different genres of music into a concise and idiosyncratic, latently absurd style. Their forthcoming EP debut "I hate it here" introduces listeners:inside to their sound world: The yearning opening track Yucca conveys a feeling of homesickness - like a telephone recording or a voice message from afar.

SMILE consists of Lars, Marius, Max, Rubee and Sebastian. The Cologne band got together in Bonn after regularly meeting at the same concerts. A few years later they release their debut EP "I hate it here" together with a music video for Foliage. The music video was shot on Super 8 film and premiered at the Cologne film festival Blonde Cobra in December 2021.

SMILE'S concert is part of the funding project "c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " and is supported by the Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

SMILE - Foliage [Official Video]

Presented by

SMILE

SMILE

SMILE

23. April,
20:45–21:25

Concert @
Bumann und Sohn

Im größtmöglichen Punk-Klischee entstammt SMILE aus unterdrückter Wut und Trauer – aus dem Erleben einer modernen Welt, die den Druck verursacht, eine Vielzahl von Rollen erfüllen zu müssen und dabei körperlich und geistig gesund zu bleiben. Diese Bedingungen führen zu dauerhaft überlasteten Individuen, die sich nach schneller Genesung sehnen. Deshalb ist SMILE ein so treffendes Konzept für diese Band: Es symbolisiert den modernen Zwang den Schein zu wahren, während die Haut brennt, und die Entscheidung, dieser Welt, der wir uns entfremdet haben, mit einer ironischen Einstellung zu begegnen.

SMILE ist nicht darauf beschränkt, Wut auszudrücken oder gesellschaftlich verankerte Emotionen zu kanalisieren. Sie schlagen eine Brücke zwischen verschiedenen Musikgenres zu einem prägnanten und eigenwilligen, latent absurden Stil. Ihr bevorstehendes EP-Debüt "I hate it here" führt die Hörer:innen in ihre Klangwelt ein: Der sehnsüchtige Eröffnungstrack Yucca vermittelt ein Gefühl von Heimweh - wie eine Telefonaufnahme oder eine Sprachnachricht aus der Ferne.

SMILE besteht aus Lars, Marius, Max, Rubee und Sebastian. Die Kölner Band hat sich in Bonn zusammengefunden, nachdem sie sich regelmäßig auf denselben Konzerten begegnen. Ein paar Jahre später veröffentlichen sie ihre Debüt-EP "I hate it here" zusammen mit einem Musikvideo zu Foliage. Das Musikvideo wurde auf Super-8-Film gedreht und feierte auf dem Kölner Filmfestival Blonde Cobra im Dezember 2021 seine Premiere.

Das Konzert von SMILE findet im Rahmen des Förderprojekts „c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " statt und wird durch die Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH mit Projektmitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien gefördert.

SMILE - Foliage [Official Video]

Presented by