May The Muse

May The Muse

May The Muse

April 22,
19:30–20:15

Concert @
Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

Celebrated for her »intense creativity« (Clash) and »bewitching vocals« (The Line Of Best Fit), Berlin-based singer/songwriter May The Muse has German, Danish and Afro-American roots. Born Désirée Dorothy Mishoe in Bad Nauheim, Germany, she grew up »in a racist, sexist small town« in Belgium, where she discovered her vocal talents early on. Based in Berlin since 2018, she’s been co-writing with Chefket, Robot Koch, and Parra For Cuva. She recently enlisted longtime buddy Matthew Kent for her »When Mercury Fades« EP which earned her rave reviews (e.g. The Line Of Best Fit, Berliner Zeitung, Radio Eins, Musikexpress …) and an invitation for a much-praised A COLORS SHOW in early 2021. 

Inspired by nature and an ongoing quest for serenity among the bustle of day-to-day city life, May The Muse is currently finishing her debut solo album — an intricate, seasoned musical statement that’s been years in the making.  

The concert by May The Muse is part of the project »Wunderkinder — German Music Talent 2022«, in cooperation with the Reeperbahn Festival and funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Presented by Wunderkinder – German Music Talent

May The Muse

May The Muse

May The Muse

22. April,
19:30–20:15

Concert @
Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

Die Sängerin und Songwriterin mit deutschen, dänischen und afro-amerikanischen Wurzeln wird aktuell gefeiert für ihre »intense creativity« (Clash) und »bewitching vocals« (The Line Of Best Fit). Geboren als Désirée Dorothy Mishoe in Bad Nauheim und aufgewachsen in einer »rassistischen und sexistischen Kleinstadt in Belgien«, entdeckte sie die Musik schon früh für sich. Seit 2018 in Berlin beheimatet, arbeitete sie zuletzt unter anderem mit Chefket, Robot Koch und Parra For Cuva. Die mit ihrem langjährigen Producer-Freund Matthew Kent aufgenommene EP »When Mercury Fades« bescherte ihr zuletzt viel Kritikerlob (u.a. The Line Of Best Fit, Berliner Zeitung, Radio Eins, Musikexpress …) sowie eine Einladung für eine gefeierte A COLORS SHOW Anfang 2021.

Inspiriert von ihrem Hang zur Natur und der Suche nach Balance und innerer Ausgeglichenheit im Treiben der Großstadt, ist May The Muse momentan dabei, die Arbeit an ihrem Debütalbum abzuschließen: Ein Longplayer, der überraschend reif klingt für einen Erstling – weil sie bewusst nichts überstürzt hat.

Das Konzert von May The Muse findet im Rahmen des Projekts »Wunderkinder – German Music Talent 2022« statt, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Reeperbahn Festival und gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Presented by Wunderkinder – German Music Talent