Highcoast

Highcoast

Highcoast

April 23,
20:15–21:00

Concert @
Das Werk Haus

Highcoast, founded in Melbourne, stranded in Hamburg, have been playing sun-soaked surf rock since 2016, atypical for a band from northern Germany and a genre rarely found in Europe. So how does highcoast come to play surf rock in a city where it rains over 200 days a year and the nearest surfable beach is several thousand kilometers away? It's probably because a lot of the songs were written during various attempts to escape reality in the epicenter of modern surf music - Australia - and are based on the ideals of both California and Australian surf culture. 

The songs of Highcoast are about longing, drug parties, never ending road trips and the most beautiful beaches in the world. Transposed into energetic songs with a dirty vintage sound, but a consistent casual attitude. A diverse mix of rawness and sweetness that brings summer and good vibes to any stage. 

With the upcoming EP a new chapter is opened, still with a positive message, light melancholy pervades the 6 songs, transported by a further developed unique sound, which also dares to break out sometimes and sound bittersweet punky. For the first time, the new EP will be released together with its predecessor "sunnies, cones & choppy waves" on a limited double vinyl and after the great online success of the single "Scared of Sharks" and the subsequent tour, more international shows are now planned.

The concert of Highcoast takes place within the framework of the project "c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " and is supported by the Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH with project funds of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

highcoast - Green Demons (Official Video)

Presented by

Highcoast

Highcoast

Highcoast

23. April,
20:15–21:00

Concert @
Das Werk Haus

Highcoast, gegründet in Melbourne, gestrandet in Hamburg, spielen seit 2016 sonnengetränkten Surf-Rock, untypisch für eine Band aus Norddeutschland und ein in Europa selten anzutreffendes Genre. Wie kommt highcoast also dazu, Surfrock in einer Stadt zu spielen, in der es über 200 Tage im Jahr regnet und der nächste surfbare Strand mehrere tausend Kilometer entfernt ist? Das liegt wohl daran, dass ein Großteil der Songs bei verschiedenen Versuchen, der Realität im Epizentrum der modernen Surfmusik - Australien - zu entfliehen, entstanden ist und sich an den Idealen der kalifornischen wie auch der australischen Surfkultur orientiert. 

Die Songs von Highcoast handeln von Sehnsucht, Drogenpartys, nicht enden wollenden Roadtrips und den schönsten Stränden der Welt. Umgesetzt in energiegeladene Songs mit einem dreckigen Vintage-Sound, aber einer beständig lässigen Attitüde. Eine abwechslungsreiche Mischung aus Rauheit und Süße, die den Sommer und die guten Vibes auf jede Bühne bringt. 

Mit der kommenden EP wird ein neues Kapitel aufgeschlagen, immer noch mit positiver Botschaft, leichte Melancholie durchzieht die 6 Songs, transportiert von einem weiterentwickelten einzigartigen Sound, der sich auch mal traut auszubrechen und bittersüß punkig zu klingen. Erstmals erscheint die neue EP zusammen mit dem Vorgänger "sunnies, cones & choppy waves" auf einer limitierten Doppel-Vinyl und nach dem großen Online-Erfolg der Single "Scared of Sharks" und der anschließenden Tour sind nun weitere internationale Shows geplant.

Das Konzert von Highcoast findet im Rahmen des Förderprojekts „c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " statt und wird durch die Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH mit Projektmitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien gefördert.

highcoast - Green Demons (Official Video)

Presented by