Apsilon

Apsilon

Apsilon

April 24,
17:15–18:00

Concert @
Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

Sharaktah's slot is spontaneously taken over by the Berlin rapper Apsilon.

As the son of Turkish parents and guest workers, he is still where he grew up - in his native Moabit. After almost 10 years of writing lyrics, Apsilon has been spending a lot of time in the studio for a good two years. In terms of content, there is German rap with anti-capitalist analysis without a moralistic pointing finger. Provocative social criticism without compromise against white-German comfort and resignation. The delivery is a full load of rage, the sound is trappy and modern. New Wave.

Apsilon comes casually around the corner and puts basketball references next to racism criticism, cleverly strings together German idioms while breaking them and thus plays with the German language. Apsilon is no know-it-all rap, no street 2.0 and gets by without glorifying drugs, blind hedonism or contempt for women. At the same time, he does not exclude himself, but acts as part of this young, hopeful, broken society that lives in contradictions and wants to create something of its own socially and musically after all the disappointments of previous generations. No interchangeable playlist copy, no old patterns, recycled sound images, gestures, flows. He doesn't have to address a young audience in an uptight or embarrassing way, because he and his friends are the young audience. His language is Kanak and yet accurate, skilful, confident. As brutal as his deep voice. In his lyrics, he eats köfte, hates cops and accuses Almanya. Kes, don't bother, the youth has caught on to the lies.

The inspiration Arda draws from artists like Kendrick Lamar is the much-vaunted total package: deep musicality, connection to the community, lyrical complexity and production, and making storytelling look easy while making art that empowers the oppressed and attacks oppressive structures. He has also imbibed funky social critique and skillful lyricism with the music of artists like Outkast, The Roots, Slowthai, Noname and Earl Sweatshirt. Does he want to empower young kanak and kanakised people along the way? Safe. First and foremost, he wants to make realities and conditions tangible, to be uncomfortable, to turn the status quo to the left musically and socially.

Anger is the backbone and productive artistic force that runs through the music. Because of Hanau, because of the progroms of the 90s, because of the constant exploitation that even their own family, as guest workers, could not escape. About laws that despise people and guarantee profits. Apsilon, on the other hand, makes musical gestures that bang from the loudspeaker truck, but also in the rental car with the homies. Away with the expectation of "the good Germans", the model foreigners who don't rebel. Instead, he also wants to provoke and polarise. Apsilon does not make melancholic or resigned music, but crafts potential catalysts so that other people discover their own resistant spark within themselves.

Apsilon

Apsilon

Apsilon

24. April,
17:15–18:00

Concert @
Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

Den Slot von Sharaktah übernimmt spontan der Berliner Rapper Apsilon.

Als Sohn türkischer Eltern und Gastarbeitenden ist er immer noch da, wo er aufgewachsen ist – in seiner Heimat Moabit. Nach fast 10 Jahren Texte schreiben verbringt Apsilon seit gut zwei Jahren viel Zeit im Studio. Inhaltlich gibt es Deutschrap mit antikapitalistischer Analyse ohne erhobenen moralischen Zeigefinger. Provokante Gesellschaftskritik ohne Kompromisse gegen weißdeutsche Bequemlichkeit und Resignation. Die Delivery ist die volle Ladung Wut, der Sound ist trappig und modern. New Wave.

Apsilon kommt leger um die Ecke und legt Basketballreferenzen neben Rassismuskritik, reiht geschickt deutsche Redewendungen aneinander, während er sie bricht und spielt so mit der deutschen Sprache. Apsilon ist kein Besserwisserrap, kein Straße 2.0 und kommt ohne Drogenverherrlichung, blinden Hedonismus oder Frauenverachtung aus. Gleichzeitig klammert er sich nicht aus, sondern agiert als Teil dieser jungen, hoffnungsvollen, kaputten Gesellschaft, die in Widersprüchen lebt und nach allen Enttäuschungen der vorherigen Generationen gesellschaftlich und musikalisch etwas Eigenes schaffen will. Keine austauschbare Playlistkopie, keine althergebrachten Muster, recycelten Soundbilder, Gesten, Flows. Er muss nicht verkrampft oder peinlich ein junges Publikum ansprechen, denn er und seine Freund*innen sind das junge Publikum. Seine Sprache ist kanakisch und dabei akkurat, gekonnt, selbstsicher. Brachial wie seine tiefe Stimme. In seinen Texten isst er Köfte, hasst Cops und klagt Almanya an. Kes, lass stecken, die Jugend hat die Lügen gecheckt.

Die Inspiration, die Arda aus Künstler*innen wie Kendrick Lamar zieht, ist das viel beschworene Gesamtpaket: tiefe Musikalität, Verbundenheit zur Community, lyrische Komplexität und Produktion, sowie Storytelling einfach aussehen lassen und zeitgleich Kunst machen, die Unterdrückte stärkt und unterdrückerische Strukturen angreift. Funky Gesellschaftskritik und gekonnten Lyricism hat er auch mit der Musik von Künstler*innen wie Outkast, The Roots, Slowthai, Noname oder Earl Sweatshirt aufgesogen. Will er junge kanakische und kanakisierte Menschen auf dem Weg empowern? Safe. In erster Linie will er Realitäten und Verhältnisse erfahrbar machen, unbequem sein, den Status Quo musikalisch und gesellschaftlich auf links drehen.

Die Wut ist das Rückgrat und produktive künstlerische Kraft nach vorne, die sich durch die Musik zieht. Wegen Hanau, wegen den Progromen der 90er, wegen der andauernden Ausbeutung, der auch die eigene Familie als Gastarbeitende nicht entfliehen konnte. Von Gesetzen, die Menschen verachten und Profite garantieren. Apsilon setzt dagegen musikalische Gesten, die vom Lautsprecherwagen, aber auch im Mietwagen mit den Homies ballern. Weg mit der Erwartungshaltung an „die guten Deutschen“, die Vorzeigeausländer, die nicht aufmucken. Stattdessen will er auch provozieren und polarisieren. Apsilon macht keine melancholische oder resignative Musik, sondern bastelt potentielle Katalysatoren, damit andere Menschen den eigenen widerständigen Funken in sich entdecken.