Sirens of Lesbos

Sirens of Lesbos

Sirens of Lesbos

April 21,
20:45–21:30

Concert @
Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

Sirens of Lesbos are a group of singers, lyricists, instrumentalists and creatives who aim to revitalize and modernize the worldbeat genre with their eclectic and groovy approach. Drawing from a wide variety of backgrounds and upbringings, they manage to create an irresistible melting pot of sounds. Their music is quickly attracting fans around the world, from BBC 1Xtra's Jamz Supernova to BBC 6 Music's Nemone to Worldwide FM's Gilles Peterson and Beats 1's Ebro Darden.

In addition to her diverse musical inspirations, her sound and lyrics are also the result of her mixed heritage and growing up. Sister Serag's parents were political refugees and freedom fighters from Sudan and Eritrea, as were Friede's Czech parents after the 1968 Prague Spring uprising. Buss' father is English, and Switzerland proved to be the perfect place for these different cultures to blend and combine with contemporary influences.

Sirens of Lesbos' concert is part of the funding project "c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " and is supported by the Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

supported by Swiss Music Export

Sirens of Lesbos

Sirens of Lesbos

Sirens of Lesbos

21. April,
20:45–21:30

Concert @
Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

Sirens of Lesbos sind eine Gruppe von Sängerinnen, Texterinnen, Instrumentalist*innen und Kreativen, die mit ihrem eklektischen und groovigen Ansatz das Worldbeat-Genre neu beleben und modernisieren wollen. Sie schaffen es aus den unterschiedlichsten Hintergründen und Erziehungsstilen, einen unwiderstehlichen Schmelztiegel an Klängen zu schaffen. Ihre Musik zieht schnell Fans in aller Welt an, von BBC 1Xtra's Jamz Supernova über BBC 6 Music's Nemone bis hin zu Worldwide FM's Gilles Peterson und Beats 1's Ebro Darden.

Neben ihren vielfältigen musikalischen Inspirationen sind ihr Sound und ihre Texte auch das Ergebnis ihrer gemischten Herkunft und ihres Aufwachsens. Die Eltern der Schwester Serag waren politische Flüchtlinge und Freiheitskämpfer aus dem Sudan und Eritrea, ebenso wie die tschechischen Eltern von Friede nach dem Aufstand des Prager Frühlings 1968. Buss' Vater ist Engländer, und die Schweiz erwies sich als perfekter Ort, an dem sich diese verschiedenen Kulturen vermischen und mit zeitgenössischen Einflüssen verbinden konnten.

Das Konzert von Sirens of Lesbos findet im Rahmen des Förderprojekts „c/o pop 2022 musichubgermany " statt und wird durch die Initiative Musik gemeinnützige Projektgesellschaft GmbH mit Projektmitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien gefördert.

supported by Swiss Music Export